As we know the Medicare Meaningful Use program ended in 2016, however, it has been rebranded into the new performance-based incentive program from CMS called Medicare Access & CHIP Reauthorization Act of 2015 (MACRA). The act was passed by the bipartisan Congress and signed into law by President Obama in April, 2015.

MACRA introduces the Quality Payment Program which emphasizes value-based models like MIPS and APMS.

  • CMS made some significant changes in the proposed rule and offers more flexibility and pick-your-own-pace approach
  • Reduced the number of required measures
  • Reduced the time and cost for small practices*. Excluding more small practices from the program
  • Simplified reporting and scoring
  • Introduced the new Quality Payment Program website which explains and helps clinicians identify the measures and activities that are most meaningful to their practice or specialty:

*CMS considers small practices as those with 15 or less eligible clinicians.

The Merit-Based Incentive Payment System (MIPS) streamlines Medicare Meaningful Use, PQRS and value-based Payment Modifier into one program.

MIPS will annually measure Medicare Part B providers in four performance categories to derive a score range zero to one-hundred, which can significantly change a provider's Medicare reimbursement in each payment year.

The performance categories under MIPS are:

  • Advancing Care Information (formerly Meaningful Use)
  • Quality (PQRS/VBM)
  • Clinical Practice Improvement Activities (New category)
  • Resource Use

In 2019, your performance depends on four categories:

  • Quality which accounts for 50%
  • Advancing Care Information which accounts for 25%
  • Improvement Activities which accounts for 15%
  • Cost which accounts for 10%

Reporting Period and Deadline:

A minimum of 90-days continuous period is required. However, for Quality, a 12-months performance period is required. You can start any time between Jan 1st and Oct 2nd, 2018. The deadline for data submission is Mar 31st, 2019.